Deleting a client record

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.

Characters left:

Change to CS Support service hours

Our Support department is closed on Friday, April 28th for a company event. However, limited Accounting CS phone support is available on that date from 9 AM - 5 PM ET due to the approaching deadline for quarterly payroll tax forms.

Links to our most popular payroll tax processing topics are available in the Alerts and notices section on the right side of most pages.

Accounting CS enables you, under specific conditions, to select a client for complete and permanent deletion. When you delete a client record, the application deletes all related client data from the database, resulting in a smaller sized database. Once the client record is deleted, the client ID, EIN, and name of that client are available for use for another client.

If a client record is deleted in error, the only recovery option is to restore the entire firm database, which could result in data loss and down time.

You may want to delete a client record under any of the following circumstances:

Note: To avoid accidental data loss, the client deletion option is available only to staff who have explicit privileges to do so. If the Delete button in the Setup > Clients screen is not enabled, you do not have the privileges to do so.

You cannot delete a client record under any of the following circumstances:


To delete a client record, follow these steps.

  1. Choose Setup > Clients.
  2. In the Clients screen, select the client you want to delete.
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. In the Delete Client Confirmation dialog that displays, enter the client ID of the client you want to delete and then click the Delete button. The Client Delete in Process dialog displays until the delete process is complete.

Top of page

Share This