Accruable benefit examples - states with required sick leave

Alerts and notices

Because there are no federal laws that require employers to provide paid sick leave for their employees, many states have enacted legislation to require paid sick leave. 

This article provides examples of how to set up clients and their employees to accrue and use benefit hours in ways that adhere to specific state legislation.

These are examples of how to set up accruable benefits and are not walk-throughs. State mandates change, and you need to verify the current state mandates before setting up your clients.

California example


Notes

Requirements

  • Employers must provide 24 hours of paid sick leave to full-time employees each year.
  • Employees can accrue sick time at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked per benefit year.
  • Employees can begin accruing paid sick time after 30 days of employment in California.
  • Employees can use their accrued paid sick time after 90 days of employment.
  • Employees can carry over up to 48 hours of unused paid sick time annually.

Setup information based on the requirements

Method: Per hourly increment
Hourly increment: 30.0000
Hourly allowance: 1.0000
Delay benefit accrual until: 30 days
Delay accrued hours availability until: 90 days
Annual Limit: 24.0000
Reset Method: Anniversary
Carryover Maximum: 48.0000

Show me the Main tab of the Accruable Benefits screen.
California sick time setup

Massachusetts example


Notes

  • Information in this example is based on the Massachusetts Earned Sick Time for Employees law.
  • Some Massachusetts communities may have their own paid sick time/leave requirements.

Requirements

  • Employees will accrue up to 40 hours of sick time at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked per benefit year.
  • A benefit year is any consecutive 12-month period of time determined by the employer, and could be based on calendar year, fiscal year, tax year, or year based on the date of hire.
  • Employees begin accruing sick time on their first day of work.
  • Employees can use their accrued paid sick time after 90 days of employment.
  • Employees can carry over up to 40 hours of unused paid sick time annually.

Setup information based on the requirements

Method: Per hourly increment
Hourly increment: 30.0000
Hourly allowance: 1.0000
Delay accrued hours availability until: 90 days
Annual Limit: 40.0000
Reset Method: In most instances, this is Anniversary
Carryover Maximum: 40.0000

Show me the Main tab of the Accruable Benefits screen.
Massachusetts sick time setup

A Massachusetts employer is not required to pay the employee more than 40 hours of earned sick leave each year. If an employee has carried over hours from a prior benefit year and accrues 40 hours in the new year, that employee can have more than 40 hours available to use at the employer's discretion. The Accruable Benefit report can be used to monitor how many sick leave hours the employee has used within the current benefit year.

Michigan example


Notes

  • Information in this example is based on the Michigan Paid Medical Leave Act law.
  • Some Michigan communities may have their own paid sick time/leave requirements.

Requirements

  • Employees will accrue up to 40 hours of sick time at the rate of one hour for every 35 hours worked per benefit year.
  • Employees can use their accrued paid sick time after 90 days of employment.
  • Employees can carry over up to 40 hours of unused paid sick time annually.

Setup information based on the requirements

Method: Per hourly increment
Hourly increment: 35.0000
Hourly allowance: 1.0000
Delay accrued hours availability until: 90 days
Annual Limit: 40.0000
Reset Method: Anniversary
Carryover Maximum: 40.0000

Show me the Main tab of the Accruable Benefits screen.
Michigan sick time setup

New Jersey example


Notes

  • Information in this example is based on the New Jersey Paid Leave Act.
  • Some New Jersey communities may have their own paid sick time/leave requirements.

Requirements

  • Employees will accrue up to 40 hours of sick time at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked.
  • Employees can use their accrued paid sick time after 120 days of employment.
  • Employees can carry over up to 40 hours of unused paid sick time annually.

Setup information based on the requirements

Method: Per hourly increment
Hourly increment: 30.0000
Hourly allowance: 1.0000
Delay accrued hours availability until: 120 days
Annual Limit: 40.0000
Reset Method: Anniversary
Carryover Maximum: 40.0000

Show me the Main tab of the Accruable Benefits screen.
New Jersey sick time setup

A New Jersey employer is not required to pay the employee more than 40 hours of earned sick leave each year. If an employee has carried over hours from a prior benefit year and accrues 40 hours in the new year, that employee can have more than 40 hours available to use at the employer’s discretion. The Accruable Benefit report can be used to monitor how many sick leave hours the employee has used within the current benefit year.

Washington example


Notes

  • Information in this example is based on the Washington Paid Sick Leave law.
  • Some Washington communities may have their own paid sick time/leave requirements.

Requirements

  • Employees must accrue sick time at the rate of one hour for every 40 hours worked per benefit year.
  • Employees can use their accrued paid sick time after 90 days of employment.
  • Employees can carry over up to 40 hours of unused paid sick time annually.

Setup information based on the requirements

Method: Per hourly increment
Hourly increment: 40.0000
Hourly allowance: 1.0000
Delay accrued hours availability until: 90 days
Annual Limit: 0.0000 (no limit)
Reset Method: In most instances, this is Per Year, January 1
Carryover Maximum: 40.0000

Show me the Main tab of the Accruable Benefits screen.
Washington sick time setup