Deleting client locks or user locks

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

Important reminder!

Licenses for Payroll CS, Trial Balance CS, and Write-Up CS (but not Engagement CS) permanently expired on March 1, 2017. CSA will not include 2017 tax rates or payroll forms, so, for 2017 and beyond, you will need to process payroll in another application. We recommend Accounting CS Payroll and myPay Solutions. For more information, see the following topics.

The File Locks tab of the Help > Repair dialog enables you to delete client locks or user locks if you need to do so - for example, after a nonstandard system shutdown of your computer.

  1. In the CSA main window, choose Help > Repair.
  2. In the Repair dialog, click the File Locks tab.
  3. Click the lock type to select it (Client lock, User lock, or Other lock), highlight the relevant client or user ID, and then click the Delete Lock button.
  • Client locks are used by the program to prevent more than one CSA user from simultaneously opening the same client database. This is to ensure the integrity of client data.
  • User locks prevent any single user from opening more than one instance of the CSA program. This is to ensure the integrity of system-level data.
  • Other Locks are used by the program to prevent more than one CSA user from simultaneously opening other kinds of databases - for example, the Impound database for Payroll CS Direct Deposit users who employ that feature. (If you are licensed for the Direct Deposit module, you can obtain the free Impound license from CS Customer Service and create ACH files for funds to be collected from your clients to cover payroll and vendor checks that you pay from a centralized impound account. You can also reconcile your impound account with the provided bank reconciliation feature.)

Share This