Finalizing an engagement

Alerts and notices

When you finalize an engagement, you make its entire contents read-only, and you delete information (such as history, notes, and workpapers) that is not needed for the final engagement.

  1. Click the Engagements button at the bottom of the navigation pane, then in the navigation pane, click the engagement that you want to finalize.
  2. Click the Engagement administration Engagement administration button button above the navigation pane.
  3. Click Finalize, and then click OK.
  4. In the Diagnostics dialog, mark the checkbox for each of the sections to include in the Finalize Engagement Diagnostics report, and then click the Create button.

    Depending on the checkboxes you marked in the Diagnostics dialog, the report will include some or all of the following sections.

    • Unavailable workpapers: Lists the workpapers that are in AdvanceFlow but not in GoFileRoom. (Example: a GoFileRoom document that you add as an AdvanceFlow workpaper and then subsequently delete from GoFileRoom)
    • Workpapers in the recycle bin: Lists the workpapers in the AdvanceFlow recycle bin.
    • Checked out workpapers: Lists the workpapers that have a Checked Out status.
    • Workpaper warnings: Lists the workpapers with outstanding warnings.
    • Proposed journal entries: Lists the journal entries that are the Proposed type. You cannot update proposed journal entries after you finalize the related engagement.
    • Open notes: Lists the notes that are flagged as open.
    • Unsigned workpapers: Lists the workpapers that do not have the appropriate sign off.
    • Workpapers to delete: Lists the workpapers for which the Delete during finalize checkbox is marked in the Workpaper Properties dialog.

    Notes

    • You can print the report, save it as a workpaper, or export it to an Excel file.
    • The report displays "None" in the sections for which the diagnostic category does not apply.
  5. Click the Close link in the upper-right corner of the dialog to close the report.
  6. Click Next in the Finalize Engagement dialog.
  7. A series of Finalize Engagement dialogs open, based on the sections in the Finalize Engagement Diagnostics that contain data. Read the information at the top of each dialog and address the items as needed, and click the Next button as you address the items in each dialog.
  8. To retain all AdvanceFlow history for the current engagement, mark the Retain History checkbox in the History dialog. If you do not mark this checkbox, the application will delete all AdvanceFlow history from the engagement. Click OK.

    This includes history for the trial balance, journal entries, any workpapers stored as reports, and any AdvanceFlow-specific history (such as "Modified properties") for all workpapers in that engagement. It does not include any workpapers that are also stored in GoFileRoom because those will retain GoFileRoom-specific history.

  9. Click Yes in the confirmation dialog to finalize the engagement.

    You cannot recover any notes, workpapers, or history that is deleted as part of the finalization.

Notes

  • The navigation pane displays a locked engagement Finalized binder icon icon next to engagements that have been finalized.

    If you have appropriate permissions, you can unlock the contents of a finalized engagement by clicking the Engagement Administration Engagement administration button button, clicking Unfinalize, and then clicking OK. Note that this procedure will not restore items that were deleted during finalization. The engagement properties will retain finalizing and unfinalizing history.

  • AdvanceFlow deletes all notes from the engagement upon completion of the finalization process.
  • All workpapers in a finalized engagement are read-only.
  • All workpapers in a finalized engagement are archived in GoFileRoom. Engagements that have been archived are indicated by a red A in the Classic Search screen of GoFileRoom.
  • All fields in the Engagement Properties and Workpaper Properties dialogs of a finalized engagement are read-only.
  • Documents deleted as part of the finalization process will be moved to the Recycle Bin in GoFileRoom, if enabled.

Related articles

Engagements overview

Share This