FileCabinet CS: Cannot apply updates while other users are accessing FileCabinet CS directly or through an integrated application

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

When installing FileCabinet CS or retrieving updates or licenses via CS Connect, all users on the network must have all CS Professional Suite and Microsoft Office applications closed, due to the advanced integration between FileCabinet CS and those products. If you receive the message "Cannot apply updates while other users are accessing FileCabinet CS directly or through an integrated application", verify that all users have all of these applications closed. If you still receive the message, perform the following steps to clear the existing lock files.

If you need to update licenses and cannot have users exit applications at this time, skip to the "Workaround: Manually apply licenses" section. Note that there is no workaround for applying program updates

Clear locks in FileCabinet CS

If FileCabinet CS is already installed, follow the steps below to clear locks in FileCabinet CS. If you cannot access the program, go to the next section to manually clear locks.

  1. Open FileCabinet CS.
  2. Choose Help > Repair.
  3. Select the File Locks tab.
  4. Choose User Locks
  5. Highlight any remaining locks (other than your current login) and click the Delete Lock button.
  6. Attempt to apply the updates again. If you receive the same message, go to the next section.

Clear locks in Windows Explorer

If you still receive a message regarding other users having a CS Professional Suite or Microsoft Office Suite application open, you may have lock files existing that FileCabinet CS could not delete. Follow the steps below to manually remove these files.

  1. Close FileCabinet CS. Again, all users must have all CS Professional Suite applications and Microsoft Office applications closed. If an application is not closed and you proceed with these steps, data loss or other issues may occur.
  2. Open the Windows Explorer by pressing the Windows key + E on the keyboard.
  3. Browse to X:\WinCSI, where X stands for the drive or network location where FileCabinet CS is installed.
  4. Delete any files found in each one of the following folders:

    Note: If you are unable to delete these files (for example, if you receive a sharing violation error), contact your qualified network technician and see Receiving sharing violation error when trying to install application or to open a client for more information.

    • FcabSys\$Ulock
    • FcabData\$Ulock.fcd. If you firm has multiple FileCabinet data locations, go to each one and delete the files within the $Ulock.fcd file you find there.
    • CABINET\UID. If you do not have a UID folder within the CABINET folder, that is ok and you can skip this step.
  5. Open FileCabinet CS and attempt to apply the updates again. If you receive the same message, go to the next section.

CS Professional Suite locks

If the message states that users are running a particular CS Professional Suite application, take the following steps to delete user locks for the particular program mentioned in the message.

Note: Prior year UltraTax locks may appear even if that user has not had that version of UltraTax CS open recently, which means that the user lock was not automatically deleted the last time the user was in that program. By design, the lock will remain there until that version of UltraTax is opened by the user again or until the lock is manually deleted.

  1. Open the Windows Explorer by pressing the Windows key + E on the keyboard.
  2. Browse to X:\WinCSI, where X is the drive or network location where the CS Professional application in question is installed.
  3. Browse to the UID folder for the application in question:
    • UltraTax CS: UTYYSys\UID, where YY represents the year of UltraTax CS (e.g., UT17 for UltraTax CS 2017).
    • Fixed Assets CS: DeprSys\UID.
    • FileCabinet CS: FcabSys\UID.
    • Planner CS: $UTPSYS\UID.
  4. Delete the file named for the Windows user in the error. If there are other files in this folder, ask the other user(s) to close their application, then delete the file.

Workaround: Manually apply licenses

If you need to update licenses and cannot have users exit applications, you can manually apply licenses by following the steps below.

  1. Close FileCabinet CS on your machine. Other users can keep the program open.
  2. Browse to X:\WinCSI\Tools\UT17LIC\License\, where X is the drive where FileCabinet CS is installed to.
  3. Copy the ZFCNAME.DAT file. If there is no ZFCNAME.DAT file in this directory, see the next set of instructions below.
  4. Browse to X:\WinCSI\LICENSES\ and paste the ZFCNAME.DAT file. Choose to overwrite or replace the existing ZFCNAME.DAT file if prompted.
  5. Open FileCabinet CS and choose Help > About FileCabinet CS to verify the license has been updated. Note the other users will not see the updated license until they close and reopen the program.

Missing ZFCNAME.DAT

If there was no ZFCNAME.DAT file in step 3 above:

  1. Browse to X:\WinCSI\CABINET\Updates\, where X is the drive where FileCabinet CS is installed.
  2. Find the .zpd file with a date/time stamp corresponding to your last CS Connect license download attempt; It should follow this naming convention: *<FirmID>.zpd.
  3. Rename the extension of this file from .zpd to .zip.
  4. Extract this .zip file by right clicking on it and selecting “Extract All…” Click the Extract button on the following dialog to create an unzipped version of the folder in the updates directory.
  5. Within the Extracted folder browse to \always\Licenses\ (i.e. X:\WinCSI\CABINET\updates\I######\always\Licenses\)
  6. Copy the ZFCNAME.DAT File.
  7. Browse to X:\WinCSI\Licenses\ and paste the ZFCNAME.DAT file into the licenses folder. Choose to Overwrite or replace the existing ZFCNAME.DAT file if prompted.
  8. Open FileCabinet CS and choose Help > About FileCabinet CS to verify the license has been updated. Note the other users will not see the updated license until they close and reopen the program.

Share This