FileCabinet CS: Merging drawers during the restore process

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

You may find that from time to time, you would like to consolidate the contents of two drawers into one drawer: you have two different drawer names for the same client, you had a copy of the drawer locally and a copy on the network and need to combine them, or a number of other situations. Through the File > Backup, File > Restore process in FileCabinet CS, you have a few different options for merging drawers.

To restore backup data into your current data location or merge backup data with the current drawer data in your data location, do the following.

  1. Choose File > Restore.
  2. Select the data location to which you want to restore the backup data.
  3. Verify that the Restore location field displays the location from which you want to restore or merge drawer data. To change this location, click the Change Restore Location button, navigate to the appropriate location, and click OK.
  4. From the list of drawers available to restore, highlight the drawer that contains the documents you want to restore or merge with existing drawers.
  5. Click the Select button to move the selected drawer(s) to the Drawers to restore pane on the right.
  6. Click the appropriate restore option.
    • Restore drawers - Click this option to restore the selected drawers. If a drawer being restored already exists in the data location, you will receive a prompt to overwrite the existing drawer and restore all contents from the backup.
    • Merge with existing drawers - Click this option to merge selected drawers with their respective drawers that may already exist in the data location. If a drawer being merged already exists in the data location, you will receive a prompt for each document with different versions in the current data and backup data. When prompted, you can decide whether to keep the current document, keep the document from the backup, or keep both (the restored document will be given a unique name). If the drawer being merged does not already exist in the data location, the restore process adds the drawer before restoring its contents from the backup.
    • Merge with single drawer - Click this option to merge selected drawers into a single drawer that already exists in the data location. Choose the desired single drawer from the drop-down list for the adjacent field. If documents from the drawers being merged already exist in the drawer receiving the merge, you will receive a prompt for each document with different versions in the current data and backup data. When prompted, you can decide whether to keep the current document, keep the document from the backup, or keep both (the restored document is given a unique name).
  7. Click the Restore or Merge button.

Notes

Share This