System Configuration > CS Connect + Options tab

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

See also: Configuring the automatic backup of Fixed Assets CS client data into FileCabinet CS

Use this tab to customize CS Connect background services options for your firm, including when application updates will be applied and which computers you want to run background services. Also use this tab to specify the maximum years' data to retain on your hard disk for all clients.

To open this tab, choose Setup > System Configuration and click the CS Connect + Options tab.

Note: Depending on your security configuration, you might be prompted to enter the master password before you can open the System Configuration dialog.

Fields & buttons

CS Connect Background Services options group box

Note: If you have licensed and installed UltraTax CS or FileCabinet CS, the CS Connect background services options you set here will also be applied to those applications.

Mark this checkbox to enable background services. When this checkbox is marked, updates are automatically downloaded via CS Connect.

Any computer on this network: Click this option to enable all computers on a network to download and apply updates. This is the preferred option for most firms.

Only this computer: Click this option to designate a single computer to be responsible for downloading and applying updates. Click this option from the computer you want to designate. If this option is selected, updates will be downloaded via CS Connect only while this computer is turned on.

Only [username]'s computer: You will see this option only after another computer on your network has marked the Only on this computer option above.

Apply updates as each user’s processing permits (recommended): Click this option when you want CS Connect to immediately apply pending application updates for any product that is not currently open on the individual user’s computer.

Apply updates every day at [time]: Click this option and specify when you want CS Connect to apply pending application updates.

Note: For updates to be applied automatically at a specified time, all users must close Fixed Assets CS and at least one authorized user must remain logged in to the network. If a user fails to exit Fixed Assets CS, updates will still apply for all users who have exited, and the user who did not exit the application will acquire the updates automatically after closing and reopening the application.

Miscellaneous group box

Use this field to enter a number (2 - 10) to specify the maximum years' data to be retained on your hard disk for all clients. This range includes the client's current-year data files plus any prior-year data files. When the client closes to the next year, data older than the number of years shown in this field (minus one for the current year's data files) will be erased from your hard drive as you close to the next year.

Be sure to back up the client's data before closing to the next year.

Note: This field is read-only when accessed via the File > Select Period to Process dialog.

Mark this checkbox to indicate that Fixed Assets CS should open clients in the last period in which they were worked on. When this checkbox is marked, client data opens in the period it was last worked on in Fixed Assets CS instead of opening in the latest period for the client.

Asset note group box

Mark this checkbox to indicate that Fixed Assets CS should delete the information in the Note tab when the period is closed.

Note: The information entered in the Note tab will not be deleted in the original period.

Client note defaults group box

Select the default font type for all client notes.

Select the default font size for all client notes.

Masking SSN/EINs on reports/forms

Mark this checkbox to prevent the clients SSN/EINs printing on client listing reports.

Mark this checkbox to prevent the clients SSN/EIN from printing on reports.

Mark this checkbox to prevent the clients SSN/EIN from printing on forms.

Share This