Backing up or checking out data and other items

Alerts and notices

Use the Backup/Check Out dialog to back up (archive) and/or check out plan data and other items as Planner CS backup files (*.bck) to an external storage device, a backup location, or FileCabinet CS (if licensed). The items you can back up and check out include report sets, custom reports, report layouts, graphs, letter templates, preparer options, Watch Window templates, and federal interest rates. The check out feature is useful if you want to take files to an off-site location and do not want anyone to modify the items while you have them checked out.

Note: Not all of the items that can be backed up can also be checked out. If an item can be checked out, a checkbox is available in the C/O column when the item is selected.

Backing up or checking out data in multiple locations

If your firm has multiple data paths, you will see items for every data location that anyone on your network uses. You cannot filter to view items in your data location only; therefore, you should back up and/or check out items in batches based on data location. After backing up or checking out items from one data location, choose Tools > Change Data Path to select another location from which to check out or back up items.

Backing up or checking out items

  1. Choose File > Backup.
  2. In the Backup/Check Out dialog, each tab in the Available Items group box contains items that are available to back up or check out. Do one of the following:

    • To select one or more items listed within a single tab, click a tab, highlight an item in the left pane, and click the Select button.
    • To select all items listed within a single tab, click a tab and click the Select All button.
    • To select all items listed in all tabs, click the Global button.
  3. If you wish to check out items to a preparer, complete the following steps.

    1. In the Check out by drop-down list, select the name of the preparer (if needed) to whom the item(s) will be checked out.
    2. In the Selected Items group box, mark the C/O checkbox next to the item(s) to be checked out.

    Notes

    • Multiple preparers cannot check out the same item.
    • An item displays in blue in the Selected Items list if the item is already checked out to the preparer in the Checked out by drop-down list. An item displays in red in the Selected Items list if the item is already checked out to someone other than the preparer in the Checked out by drop-down list.
    • To override the checked-out status of items, see Overriding the checked-out status of data.
  4. Click Backup.

    Note: If the Inaccessible Plans dialog displays, the data file for a listed plan ID cannot be found in the client data path. Do one of the following:

    • If a plan is in a private data location, click OK and do not select the plan.
    • If the plan data file exists but is in a different network directory, choose Tools > Change Data Path and select the correct location. Then choose Tools > Update Plan List.
    • If the plan data file does not exist, you can choose File > Delete Plan to delete the plan ID from the Plan List.
  5. In the Backup To dialog, navigate to the backup location (CD drive, hard drive location, or network location) and click the Save button.

Share This