UltraTax CS: Discourage Access Feature: Warning - you may not wish to open this client!

Alerts and notices
Web text: disaccess

The Discourage Access feature (yellow triangle) enables you to prompt a warning message to the modification of client data when certain events have occurred, such as a return that has already been electronically filed.

UT 2013 Discourage Access Warning

By default, if an electronic file has been created for the client, the warning message will prompt when someone attempts to open the client. You can disable this feature or turn it on for other events by following the instructions outlined below.

Note: This is only a warning message and can be bypassed by clicking Open Client.

To modify the settings:

  1. Choose Setup > Office Configuration > Status.
  2. Click Discourage Access.
  3. If a checkbox is marked, UltraTax CS will provide the warning message when a client is opened, if the client had that particular event logged.