Multi-user capabilities in the application

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

Accounting CS utilizes an SQL database that is designed for firm-level processing for multiple clients that can potentially have interconnected data. By design, this environment lends itself to a multi-user experience that enables multiple staff to work in the same client at the same time based on a "first come, first served" basis.

Notes

  • To switch between client databases within same firm in Accounting CS, you can select another client from the drop-down list in the upper-right of a client-specific screen without the need to close and reopen the application.
  • To prevent data conflicts in a multi-user environment, the application retains only a single posting period for the client, which is the most recent period selected.
  • If multiple staff are making changes in the same client within the same screen, those changes may not be visible in that screen until the screen has been refreshed. (To refresh a screen, use the Forward or Back buttons at the top of the screen to move from one screen to another, and then return to the original screen in which changes were applied.)

example 24bit Example 1

Sally enters a journal entry for Bob’s Pizza in the Enter Transactions screen at the same time that Jim is entering a payroll check for the same client; both transactions are saved in the client database. Sally's screen displays different client information than Jim’s screen and vice versa until they both select a different screen in the application and then return to the original screen (in this example, the Enter Transactions screen).

example 24bit Example 2

Sally and Jim are both working simultaneously in the Enter Transactions screen and notice an error in one of the transactions. Sally decides to delete and re-enter the transaction, and Jim decides to edit the transaction. Because Sally deletes the transaction first and saves her changes to the database before Jim completes his edits, the deletion overrides Jim's changes. When Jim refreshes his screen he will see that the transaction has been deleted.



Related topic: Accounting CS Client Access features

Top of page

Share This