Multi-staff functionality in Engagement CS, overview

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

Important reminder!

Licenses for Payroll CS, Trial Balance CS, and Write-Up CS (but not Engagement CS) permanently expired on March 1, 2017. CSA will not include 2017 tax rates or payroll forms, so, for 2017 and beyond, you will need to process payroll in another application. We recommend Accounting CS Payroll and myPay Solutions. For more information, see the following topics.

Multi-staff functionality in Engagement CS enables more than one staff member to work in the Master Client Data (MCD) at the same time. In addition, this feature provides an alternative method for checking in and checking out selected workpapers to the Local Client Data (LCD). Note that to take advantage of multi-staff functionality, you must be working within the same office and connected to the same network as the other staff who are currently assigned to the engagement.

To enable multi-staff functionality for your Engagement CS client, mark the Enable multi-staff functionality in Engagement CS checkbox on the Trial Balance tab of the File > Client Properties dialog in CSA.

See also: Multi-staff functionality in Engagement CS (a typical scenario)

Special information

The following tasks can be performed in the Master Client Data (MCD) when it is used by more than one staff member at the same time:

  • Sign off on a single workpaper
  • Sign off on multiple workpapers
  • Add a new workpaper or folder
  • Add a new workpaper or folder
  • View workpaper properties
  • Open, edit, and save workpapers
  • Add, edit, or delete review notes for workpapers
  • Edit workpaper properties
    • Rename a workpaper
    • Change a workpaper reference
    • Change the roll forward treatment for workpapers
    • Change the workpaper assignments
  • View engagement properties
  • Print to engagement via the Engagement CS print driver
  • Send diagnostic reports to the engagement
  • Copy and Paste a document in the engagement
  • Use trial balance features (see Working with the trial balance in a multi-staff environment)
  • Move workpapers using the drag-and-drop method
  • Create reports
  • View history
  • Open help topics
  • Add, edit, or delete review notes for folders and the engagement Disconnect > reconnect documents

The following tasks cannot be performed in the Master Client Data (MCD) when it is used by more than one staff member at the same time

  • Perform any of the following functions related to staff collaboration:
    • send workpapers to transfer file
    • synchronize
    • undo checkout
    • receive workpapers from transfer file
  • Move folders using the drag-and-drop method
  • Filter on folders
  • Rename folders and/or engagements
  • Sort folders and workpapers ascending or descending
  • Add or delete engagement
  • Wrap up the engagement
  • Roll forward the engagement
  • Edit engagement properties, including the following:
    • assign workpapers
    • assign > edit staff and/or staff permissions
  • Archive, restore archive, or delete archive
  • Data conversions
  • Back up or restore an engagement client
  • Process unfiled workpapers

Notes

  • To enable multi-staff functionality for the client, mark the Enable multi-staff functionality in Engagement CS on the Trial Balance tab of the File > Client Properties dialog in CSA.
  • A "Multi-staff enabled" note appears in the status bar of the Engagement CS workspace when it is enabled for the current engagement.
  • Multiple staff are allowed in an engagement only when that engagement is the Master Client Data (MCD).
  • The application notifies you with message prompts and also indicates when a document or workpaper is currently in use in the Master Client Data (MCD) by displaying a lock on the item in the tree view pane of the engagement workspace.
  • The Help > Repair dialog in Engagement CS allows you to delete multi-user locks that may not have been correctly terminated in a previous session.
  • If a document is left open in the Master Client Data (MCD) after all users have closed the engagement, the status of that document remains (Open). The owner of the document must re-open the engagement and refresh the document after it has been closed.
  • To access all the trial balance-related features, you must be assigned to the trial balance. For details, see Working with the trial balance in a multi-staff environment.

Share This