\

Archiving engagements

Show expandable text

Warning

Product support for the Creative Solutions Accounting platform ended on September 30, 2020.

Help & How-To Center content for the Creative Solutions Accounting platform may be outdated and is used at your own risk.

The archiving Engagement data utility in Engagement CS allows you to create a secure storage file for engagements that no longer need to be viewed in the Tree View window of the engagement workspace. This provides more usable space in the Tree View. When an engagement is archived it will be removed from the Tree View window, but will be saved into the client data folder and included with backups.

Steps to Archiving an Engagement:

  1. Within Engagement CS choose File > Archive > Create.
  2. In the Create dialog double-click one or more of the engagements listed in the left (Available) pane to move them to the right (Selected) pane, or click the Select All button.
  3. If you have not wrapped up the engagement before archiving, you are prompted as a reminder before you begin the archive process. You can click Yes to proceed with the Wrap Up or click No continue with the archive.
  4. By default, the engagement will be archived to the following data path: "..\CSAData\‹Client name›\‹Engagement name›\Engagements\$archive". This path cannot be changed.
  5. Click the Archive button.
  6. After the engagement has been archived it will be removed from the Tree View window.

Steps to Restore an Archived Engagement:

  1. A working copy of an archived engagement can be restored by choosing File > Archive > Restore.
  2. In the Restore Archive Copy dialog double-click one or more of the engagements listed in the left (Available) pane to move them to the right (Selected) pane, or click the Select All button.
  3. Click the Restore button.
  4. When the engagement has been restored to Engagement CS, Archive Copy is displayed in the Warning column of the Tree View window.

Steps to Delete an Archived Engagement:

Archived engagements can be permanently deleted from the clients folder.

  1. Within Engagement CS choose File > Archive > Delete.
  2. In the Delete Archive dialog double-click one or more of the engagements listed in the left (Available) pane to move them to the right (Selected) pane, or click the Select All button.
  3. Click the Delete button.

Notes:

  • The ability to Create/Restore/Delete archived Engagements requires the staff to be assigned the privilege for this utility. The privilege is assigned on the Engagements tab of the staff's Group Privileges from Setup > System Configuration > Administration > Groups available from the main Creative Solutions Accounting program. This privilege cannot be assigned on an engagement by engagement level, but rather globally under Setup > System Configuration > Administration > Groups.
  • Engagements that contain checked out or disconnected workpapers cannot be archived. If you attempt to archive the engagement under these conditions, you will be prompted with a warning.
  • If you have not wrapped up the engagement before archiving, you are prompted as a reminder before you begin the archive process. You can click Yes to proceed with the Wrap Up or click No continue with the archive.
  • If you have previously archived the currently selected engagement, you are prompted as a reminder before you begin the archive process. You can click OK to proceed with the archive and overwrite the previous archive, or click Cancel to end the process.
  • You can archive the selected files to the specified backup location, saving them in password protected zip format.


30791966

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for the feedback!