Recycling Bin

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

When the Manage RecordsFlow option is chosen, you enter the Recycling Bin (Recycle Management tab) by default.

Prior to RecordsFlow, your firm was limited to deleting documents without the option of restoring them.

Restoring documents

All documents that have been deleted by your GoFileRoom users within the last year are found under the Documents heading. (Documents that have already been permanently purged will not appear on this list - such as documents deleted over a year ago.) These documents are the same documents that are recorded as Deleted Docs in the Document Tracking report.

Note: Restoring documents does not require approval of multiple users. Only one administrator or record manager is needed.

  1. Select the drawer from the Drawer field.
  2. Select the rows for the documents that you wish to restore.

    Note: You may select up to 150 documents at a time.

  3. Right-click and choose Restore Document, then click OK.

Manually deleting documents

The permanent deletion of documents is accomplished similarly to restoring a document.

Note: The purging of documents requires two administrators or record managers. These two users will be required to provide their authentication credentials in order to proceed with deletion process.

  1. Select the drawer from the Drawer field.
  2. Mark the checkboxes of the documents that you wish to delete.

    Note: You may select up to 150 documents at a time.

  3. Right-click and choose Purge Document(s), then click OK to confirm the purge.

    Important! If a document is purged, it is permanently deleted and can not be restored. Please act with caution.

  4. Two Administrators or Record Managers must enter their authentication credentials in order to approve this action.
  5. Click OK.

The manual deletion will take place immediately.

Automatically deleting documents

Your organization may also create an automatic purging policy for each drawer within GoFileRoom. The policy is enforced by the amount of time a deleted document has been in the Recycling Bin.

Note: The purging of documents requires two administrators or record managers. These two users will be required to provide their authentication credentials in order to approve the automatic deletion policy.

  1. Select a drawer from the Drawer field.
  2. Click the Change button to make the automated purge options available.
  3. Choose the Automatically purge documents that are in the Recycle Bin for more than option.
  4. Specify the timing criteria for this policy by entering a single- or double-digit number and selecting the interval. Intervals are segregated by days, weeks, months, and years.
  5. Click Save. You will be prompted with confirmation message.

    Important! Documents that are purged will be permanently deleted and can not be restored. Please act with caution.

  6. Two Administrators or Record Managers must enter their authentication credentials in order to approve this action.
  7. Click OK.

    Note: The purge action will not be performed immediately. Instead they will be permanently deleted overnight.

After the screen refreshes, any documents in the Recycle Bin that were deleted by your users prior to the policy's time interval selected will be identified in orange. These highlighted documents are scheduled to be deleted overnight.

Important! Because document records may comply with the approved policy every day, the list of highlighted documents will change on a daily basis. It is recommended that record managers review this list as often as deemed necessary.

Related topic: RecordsFlow overview

Share This