Setting up system preferences

Use the System tab (Setup > User Preferences) to set preferences for the overall application. When you click a preference, a description appears in the text pane at the bottom of the tab.

Note: Your firm’s administrator or other user with security permission can specify default user preferences when setting up new staff in the application by choosing Setup > Firm > Preferences tab. Staff members with security privileges can later change these preferences if they want. To restore the firm’s default user preferences, click the Reset to new Staff defaults for Firm link.

  • Mark the Alternate background color on lists checkbox to show all lists and grids with alternating white and gray backgrounds.
  • Mark the Use Enter key to move between fields checkbox to have the Enter key always move you to the next field in data entry.
  • Mark the Enable desktop notifications for monitored events checkbox to receive desktop alerts in Practice CS.

    Note: This checkbox is available only if you are licensed for the Practice CS Project Management or Client Management module.

  • Mark the Show desktop notifications until closed checkbox to have "popup-style" desktop alerts stay on screen until you close them manually.

    Note: This checkbox is available only if you are licensed for the Practice CS Project Management or Client Management module.

  • Favorite screen: From this drop-down list, select the dashboard or screen you want to open whenever you start the application. You can access your favorite screen quickly by clicking the Favorite Screen button in the toolbar.
  • Reset the "Don’t show this message again" checkbox for all messages: Each warning message throughout the application includes a checkbox that you can mark if you do not want to see the message again. Click the Reset button to clear these checkboxes and reactivate all warning messages.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for the feedback!