Removing information that was transferred via the Family Transfer Utility

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

Change to CS Support service hours

Our Support department is closed on [[date]]. However, limited UltraTax CS phone support is available on that date from 9 AM - 5 PM ET due to the approaching deadline.

Links to our most popular tax processing topics are available in the Alerts and notices section on the right side of most pages.

Question

I accidentally transferred data to the wrong return. How do I undo this?

Answer

  1. Choose Utilities > Family Transfer Utility. 
  2. In the pane on the left, highlight the parent or claiming taxpayer and then click the Select Parent button. Note that UltraTax CS automatically remembers each return you previously selected as a dependent during the last transfer. 
  3. Do one of the following:
    • To delete all previously transferred data from all returns, leave all the applicable returns selected in the right pane and proceed to the next step. 
    • To remove transferred data from one or more dependent returns while retaining transferred information in the other returns, highlight and remove all dependents from the right pane except the dependent(s) whose transferred data needs to be deleted. In the pane on the right, you will be left with only the parent or claiming taxpayer and the return(s) whose transferred data needs to be removed. Proceed to the next step.
  4. In the Transfer type group box, mark the appropriate checkbox.
  5. Click the Undo button. UltraTax CS confirms that the undo was successful. At this point, the transferred data was removed from the selected return. 

Related topic: Family Transfer Utility FAQs

Share This