Modifying data sharing functionality for a single client

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

MFA required for electronic filing

Effective May 3rd, the 2017 version of UltraTax CS requires multi-factor authentication (MFA) to access the electronic filing transmission feature in CS Connect.

Thomson Reuters is committed to proactively evolving our security features to help you protect your firm and your clients' data. For more information about multi-factor authentication, see Multi-factor authentication overview.

You can use the data sharing feature in UltraTax CS to share general information (such as names and addresses) and K-1 financial data across UltraTax CS federal modules. By default, UltraTax CS enables data sharing for all clients. You can disable data sharing for all UltraTax CS clients or for a single client.

Use this procedure to disable data sharing for a client as follows:

  1. Choose File > Open Client and open the appropriate client.
  2. Choose File > Client Properties to open the Client Properties dialog.
  3. Click the Advanced Properties button.
  4. If your security configuration requires it, enter the master password and click the Continue button to enable the fields in this dialog.
  5. Mark the appropriate checkbox depending on the degree to which you want to restrict Data Sharing for this client.
    • Exempt this client from all Data Sharing functionality checkbox - This will prevent the client's data from being shared or modified by data sharing. Marking this checkbox completely prevents UltraTax CS from sharing the current client's data. This client's data will not be updated by changes to other clients' shared data, and updates to this client's data will not affect other clients' data.
    • Deny others Data Sharing access to this client data checkbox - This will prevent the client's data from being shared with other clients. Marking this checkbox prevents other clients' data from being updated by changes to the current client's shared data. Note that the current client's data can still receive shared data updates from other clients.
  6. Click OK to close the Advanced Properties dialog, and then click OK again to close the Client Properties dialog.

Notes

  • If you want to turn on the Data Sharing feature for the client, repeat the above procedure, but clear the Exempt this client from all Data Sharing functionality and Deny others Data Sharing access to this client data checkboxes.
  • If you turn on the Data Sharing feature after you have disabled the feature for a client, you must rebuild the file. To do so, choose Help > Repair, highlight the applicable client in the list, and click Rebuild Data Sharing. You should perform this step when no other users are using the application.

Tip: You can also disable the Data Sharing feature for all UltraTax CS clients by clearing the Allow use of the Data Sharing feature checkbox in Setup > Office Configuration > Data Sharing tab.

Related topic: Data sharing overview

Share This