Downloading and restoring converted data

Complete the steps below to download and restore converted 2018 data to 2018 UltraTax CS.

Please note the following before you restore converted data into 2018 UltraTax CS.

  • The current tax year conversion is available beginning in mid-August. Release varies by competitor.
  • You should restore converted data only to complete returns extended using competitor applications after the current tax year conversion becomes available; otherwise, converted data is intended for proforma.
  • You must suppress conversion data on a client-by-client basis for clients restored from converted data.

    Note: You need to suppress converted data only for those client returns that you prepare in 2017 UltraTax CS.

  • You should proforma client data using the restored data in UltraTax CS. You should not use the converted data for proforma if you have already restored the client data into UltraTax CS.
  • When you restore converted data into UltraTax CS, duplicating tax returns exactly as found in the competitor application may require significant data entry.

Download and unzip the converted data file and conversion documents

If you are on SaaS or Virtual Office CS, your converted data is uploaded directly to the SaaS or Virtual Office CS environment. To access conversion logs and documentation, download the ZIP file, and proceed to restore the converted data into UltraTax CS.

  1. Access the Secure Data Exchange under the Private Communication Portal available at http://cs.thomsonreuters.com/myaccount/pcc.
  2. Save the *.ZIP file from the Secure Data Exchange to a location on your hard drive or on your network drive.
  3. In Windows Explorer, browse to the location where you saved the ZIP file, right-click the ZIP file, and select Extract All to unzip the data.

The instructions for using your converted data are in the Instruct.PDF file. This file is in the converted data folder.

Restore client data into 2018 UltraTax CS

If you are on SaaS or Virtual Office CS, your converted data is uploaded directly to the SaaS or Virtual Office CS environment. You will receive a separate email message with the location of your converted data in this environment. The data will be posted to a folder named with the Conversion ID under Y:\ConvertedData\. In step 4 below, when you browse the list of drives in the SaaS or Virtual Office CS environment, the Y drive is displayed as "wincsi" and is the last file in the list.

Note: When you restore converted data into 2018 UltraTax CS, the client ID should not match any other client ID that already exists in UltraTax CS or Fixed Assets CS. If the client ID matches another client ID, you need to rename the client ID before you restore the converted data. If you do not rename the client ID before you restore converted data and the client ID for the converted client matches an existing client ID, the following will occur for each application.

  • UltraTax CS: The application will prompt you to overwrite the existing data with the converted data or by-pass the restore.
  • Fixed Assets CS: If you also use this application, the UltraTax CS data will not overwrite the client data in Fixed Assets CS, and the application will not prompt you to overwrite the client’s data or by-pass the restore. The converted depreciation data will not be restored to your depreciation location; instead, the existing data will remain in the depreciation location.
  1. In 2018 UltraTax CS, choose File > Restore.
  2. Click Change Backup Location.
  3. Browse to the location of your converted data file, and click OK.
  4. Select the client data that you want to restore.
  5. Click Restore.
  6. When the process is complete, click Done.

Configure client data for use with restored conversion data

Before you begin data entry, complete the following steps with any client data that you restored from converted data.

If you do not complete these steps, data from the completed return will not proforma correctly to the following year. When you open the restored client return in UltraTax CS, a diagnostic will display if you have not marked the checkbox.

  1. Choose File > Open Client, select a client, and click Open.
  2. Choose File > Client Properties.
  3. Click the Advanced Properties button.
  4. On the tab with the competitor name, mark the Suppress conversion amounts checkbox, and click OK.
  5. Click OK.