Restoring or merging drawer data

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

You can restore backup data into your current data location or merge backup data with current drawer data in your data location.

  1. From the File menu, choose Restore.
  2. From the Data Location field, select the data location to which you will restore the backup data.

    Note:Only data locations that appear in the Data Locations tab of the System Configuration dialog are listed in the Data location field. For more information on adding data locations, see Maintaining data locations for FileCabinet CS data.


  3. Verify that the Restore location field shows the location from which you want to restore or merge drawer data. To change this location, click the Change Restore Location button, navigate to the appropriate location, and click OK.

    Note: If you're running FileCabinet CS in the Virtual Office CS or SaaS environment, you can navigate to files on your local network.

  4. In the list of drawers available to restore, highlight the drawer that contains the documents you want to restore or merge with existing drawers.
  5. Click the Select button to move the selected drawer to the Drawers to restore pane on the right.
  6. Click the appropriate restore option.
    • Restore drawers - Click this option to restore the selected drawers. If the drawer that you will restore already exists in the data location, FileCabinet CS will ask if you want to overwrite the existing drawer or cancel the restore. Drawers that do not already exist in the data location are created during the restore process.
    • Merge with existing drawers - Click this option to merge selected drawers with their respective drawers that may already exist in the data location. If a drawer that you are merging already exists in the data location, FileCabinet CS will prompt you about each document that has different versions in the current data and backup data. When prompted, you can decide whether to keep the current document, keep the document from the backup, or keep both (FileCabinet CS will give the restored document a unique name). Drawers that do not already exist in the data location are created during the restore process.
    • Merge with single drawer - Click this option to merge selected drawers into a single drawer that already exists in the data location. Choose the desired single drawer from the adjacent field. If documents from the drawers that you are merging already exist in the drawer receiving the merge, FileCabinet CS will prompt you about each document that has different versions in the current data and backup data. When prompted, you can decide whether to keep the current document, keep the document from the backup, or keep both (FileCabinet CS gives the restored document a unique name).
  7. Click the Restore or Merge button.

Notes

  • You can merge data backups that are stored in FileCabinet CS by other CS Professional Suite applications only when the backup and destination drawers have the same drawer ID.
  • If you restore a drawer that is not in the multiple-file format, FileCabinet CS prompts you to convert the drawer to the multiple-file format. You can suppress this message by marking the Do not show me this warning again checkbox in the message, or by clearing the Warn when restoring drawers and a conversion is required checkbox in the Setup > User Preferences > Misc tab.
  • Drawers that do not match the data format of the current data location convert automatically during the restore or merge process.

Share This