Merged client details

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

This topic explains how Practice CS treats information when you merge one client into another.

For the purpose of this topic, Client A refers to the source client, and Client B refers to the destination client.

General

  • Clients of class Client or Prospect can be merged with other clients of class Client or Prospect
  • Clients of class Administrative can only be merged with other clients of class Administrative
  • If Client A is active and Client B is inactive, all of client A’s engagements become inactive
  • If Client A is active and Client B is inactive, all open schedule items (including projects and tasks) are canceled, except for scheduled phone calls.

Clients setup screen

  • Practice CS retains Client B’s information and deletes Client A’s information
  • Referred by field
    • Other clients referred by Client A are now referred by Client B
    • Clients referred by Client A’s primary contact are now referred by Client B’s primary contact
  • Practice CS deletes Client A’s primary contact
    • If a deleted contact was also a preferred and/or billing contact for another client, Practice CS uses that client’s primary contact as preferred and/or billing contact
    • If a deleted contact was also an additional contact for another client, Practice CS replaces the additional contact with Client B’s primary contact
  • Practice CS adds preferred contact, billing contact, and additional contacts from Client A as additional contacts for Client B
  • Other clients referred by Client A’s contact are now referred by Contact B’s contact
  • Engagements assigned only to Client A are changed to Client B’s engagement
  • Engagements assigned only to Client B are unchanged
  • If an engagement is assigned to both Client A and Client B, Practice CS retains Client B’s engagement setup and deletes Client A’s engagement setup, including rates, recurring bills, surcharges, links, and custom fields
  • All of Client A’s projects are merged with Client B’s projects
  • Client A’s projects are unchanged except for the assigned client
  • Client B’s projects are unchanged
  • If a project for Client A is assigned to an engagement that is already assigned to Client B and the project has the status of inactive for that engagement, then Practice CS cancels Client A’s open projects for that engagement
  • If Client A was a parent to other clients, then Client B is the new parent to those clients
  • If Client A was a subsidiary to other clients, the parent/subsidiary relationship is lost
  • Practice CS retains all of Client B’s information and deletes all of Client A’s information, including billing instructions, A/R options, invoice & statement delivery, and saved credit cards and bank accounts
  • Client A’s notes are deleted
  • Client B’s notes are unaffected

Client A’s history is lost

Time and Expense Entry

  • Client A’s time and expense entries transfer to Client B, including links and custom fields
  • Transferred amounts are marked as overridden to prevent recalculation
  • Remote entries in Client A’s Integrated Entries tab transfer to Client B
  • Remote time entries transmitted for Client A after merging produce a "client not found" message on the Integrated Entries tab

Billing

  • Invoices for Client A are transferred to Client B, including links, custom fields, and changes made in Compose
  • Invoices in Client A’s Integrated Invoices tab are not updated for Client B and need to be sent again from UltraTax CS
  • The following rules apply when Client A has invoices printed to NetClient CS.
    • If Client A’s billing contact is not the primary contact, then the billing contact is transferred to Client B along with portal information
    • If the billing contact is the primary contact, then the contact is deleted
    • All invoices remain in the existing portal

Accounts receivable

  • Receipts for Client A transfer to Client B
  • Pending receipts for Client A in the Integrated Receipts tab are deleted
  • Pending receipts for Client B in the Integrated Receipts tab are unaffected
  • Accepted credit card receipts for Client A transfer to Client B
  • Pending credit card receipts for Client A transfer to Client B and can be resubmitted
  • Credit card receipts for Client A that were declined due to error are transferred to Client B and can be resubmitted
  • Saved credit cards and bank accounts for Client A are deleted
  • If service charges for merged clients were posted on the same date, they are combined
  • If Client A and Client B use different service charge rates, any of Client B’s service charges that are comprised of service charges merged from Client A are marked as overrides

Other items

  • Interactions for Client A are transferred to Client B
  • Practice CS replaces the contact for merged interactions with Client B’s primary contact
  • Client B’s interactions are unaffected

Client-specific schedule items include scheduled phone calls, to-do items, and meetings. Also see the Projects tab section earlier in this topic.

  • Client A’s schedule items are transferred to Client B
  • Client field is changed to Client B
  • Transferred items include assigned staff, calendar entries, and all types of custom fields and links
  • With Contact field for scheduled phone calls is changed to primary contact for Client B

File transfers for Client A are transferred to Client B

Recorded events for Client A are transferred to Client B


Related topics

Share This