Changing the posting period for a client

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

Change to CS Support service hours

Our Support department is closed on Friday, April 28th for a company event. However, limited Accounting CS phone support is available on that date from 9 AM - 5 PM ET due to the approaching deadline for quarterly payroll tax forms.

Links to our most popular payroll tax processing topics are available in the Alerts and notices section on the right side of most pages.

The application enables you to change the processing period for which you enter data for the current client. Use the Actions > Change Posting Period command to change the processing period for the current client or to close the year for the client. You can move forward to a future period, or you can move back to a prior period. Client data is automatically moved to the next processing period when the period is changed.

Note: The Actions > Change Posting Period command is available only if you are licensed for the Accounting service and have it enabled for the current client. Because payroll information is based on the check date, the application does not have separate processing or posting periods for the general ledger and payroll.

See also: Write-up process workflow

Changing the posting period

  1. Choose Actions > Change Posting Period or click the Change Posting change posting button button in the application toolbar.
  2. Verify that the correct client is selected. (To select a different client, close this dialog and select the desired client from any of the data-entry windows in which you can select a client, and then confirm that you want to move to the next processing period.)
  3. Select the year to which you want to move the posting period. The available years are based on the years defined in the Period End Dates dialog and can include one future year and an unlimited number of prior years.
  4. Select the appropriate posting period.
  5. Click OK.
  6. You are prompted to carry forward tickmarks. Mark the Carry forward tickmarks checkbox to copy all tickmarks associated with a general ledger account within the source period to the destination period.

    Note: If you have worked in the destination period at any time, the period is advanced without displaying this prompt.

  7. Click OK to continue advancing the period.

Closing the year

  1. Choose Actions > Change Posting Period Change Posting change posting button button in the application toolbar.
  2. Verify that the correct client is selected. To select a different client, close this dialog and select the desired client from any of the data-entry windows in which you can select a client.
  3. Select the year that follows the client's current processing period.
  4. Select the appropriate posting period, and then click OK.
  5. In the Year End Close dialog, specify how you want to handle budgets amounts in the year to which you are advancing, choose any applicable closing options, and click OK.
  6. If the Zero account balances checkbox is not marked, a subsequent Year End Close dialog opens. In this dialog, you can distribute net income to one or more equity accounts, and you can close balance sheet accounts from one account to another.

    Only equity accounts (those with a classification code of EQ assigned to it) are included in the drop-down list in the Account column.

  7. Click OK.

See also: Changing a client's processing frequency

Related topic

Changing a client's processing frequency

Account balance workflow and adjustments via the Trial Balance screen

Top of page

Share This