Refreshing payroll check information

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

You can refresh payroll check information for unprinted payroll checks and for handwritten payroll checks that have not yet had any liabilities generated. This will update all employee information that may have changed since the payroll check was entered.

Note: Refreshed checks will include any non-standard hours and/or override amounts that were entered on the original check as long as all of the following conditions apply.

  • The payroll item is still active for that employee.
  • The location/department/percent combinations must still be the same for employees set up to enable auto-pay distributions based on percentages.
  • No location/department combinations have been removed for the employee.

See also: Adding or editing employee records during payroll check entry

Enter Transactions screen

A Refresh Payroll Check command is available from the Edit menu of the screen for unprinted payroll checks or for handwritten payroll checks that have not yet had any liabilities generated. The menu command is not available for payroll checks that are marked as cleared in the Actions > Reconcile Bank Accounts screen.

  1. Choose Actions > Enter Transactions.
  2. Highlight the payroll check in the Transactions list and then choose Edit > Refresh Payroll Check (or press the F5 key).
  3. A prompt displays, asking if you are sure you want to refresh the current transaction.
    • Click Yes to refresh the payroll check using all of the latest information for the employee, including any changes to payroll items, accruable benefit items, tax exemptions, work locations, GL accounts, etc.

      Note: When you refresh a payroll check, the application will recreate the check using the current payroll item exclusions that are set up for the associated payroll schedule.

    • Click No to leave the information the way it was.

Enter Batch Payroll Checks screen

For live payroll processing only

When you recall a suspended batch in the Actions > Enter Batch Payroll Checks screen, a prompt displays, asking if you are sure you want to refresh the checks included in the current batch.

Note: In the case where employees have been added or removed from a payroll schedule, the application will still create the checks for those employees, but will mark the DNP checkboxes for them as a visual indicator that checks have been added or removed from the batch.

Top of page

Share This