Backup or Restore dialog [File menu]

Alerts and notices

  • Use the Backup dialog to back up drawers, database locations, or system settings.
  • Use the Restore dialog to restore drawers, database locations, or system settings.

To open the Backup dialog, choose File > Backup.

To open the Restore dialog, choose File > Restore.

Note: If you backup a SQL file it will convert to flat file. This flat file can be restored to either a flat file or SQL. 

Fields & buttons

From this field, choose the data location to which you will restore drawer data.

Note: Only data locations that appear in the Data Locations tab of the System Configuration dialog are listed in the Data location field. For more information on adding data locations, see Data Locations overview.

From this field, choose to show Drawers, Database Locations, or System Settings in the list of items available to backup or restore.

Shows a list of all drawers, database locations, or system settings available for backing up or restoring.

Tip: To sort the list by drawer ID or name, click the words "Drawer ID" or "Drawer Name" in the title bar of the list pane.

Title bar

Shows the drawers, database locations, or system settings you have selected to back up or restore.

Tip: To sort the list by drawer ID or name, click the words "Drawer ID" or "Drawer Name" in the title bar of the list pane.

Title bar

Mark this checkbox to exclude from the current backup drawers that have not changed since their last backup.

Shows the location to which FileCabinet CS backs up the drawer data, or the location from which FileCabinet CS restores the drawer data. To change this location, click the Modify Backup Location / Change Restore Location button, navigate to the appropriate location, and click OK.

Note: If you’re running FileCabinet CS in the Virtual Office CS or SaaS environment, you can navigate to files on your local network.

To change the location to which the drawer data is backed up or the location from which the drawer data is restored, click this button, navigate to the desired location, and click OK.

Note: If you’re running FileCabinet CS in the Virtual Office CS or SaaS environment, you can navigate to files on your local network.

Mark this checkbox to check out the selected client’s data. By checking out a client’s data, you can avoid problems that result from multiple users simultaneously accessing the same client’s data. Any other user who attempts to open the client drawer while you have the data checked out will see a dialog stating that the drawer is currently checked out. If that user chooses to open the client anyway, FileCabinet CS will clear this checkbox.

If you have assigned statuses to your drawers, you can mark or clear the status checkboxes in the Focus section to focus the Drawer list by status.

Mark this checkbox to restore the database to the original server to which it was backed up. If you choose to restore to a different database server, clear this checkbox and enter or select the database server.

Note: If you need to restore multiple database locations, mark the Restore to original database server checkbox to restore each database location to the server that is listed in the Server column.

When you restore a drawer that has custom folders that do not exist in FileCabinet CS, mark this checkbox to add those folders to FileCabinet CS.

Click this option to restore the selected drawers. If the drawer that you will restore already exists in the data location, FileCabinet CS will ask if you want to overwrite the existing drawer or cancel the restore. Drawers and system-generated folders that do not already exist in the data location will be created during the restore process.

Click this option to merge selected drawers with their respective drawers that may already exist in the data location. If a drawer that you are merging already exists in the data location, FileCabinet CS will prompt you about each document that has different versions in the current data and backup data. When prompted, you can decide whether to keep the current document, keep the document from the backup, or keep both (FileCabinet CS will give the restored document a unique name). Drawers and folders that do not already exist in the data location will be created during the restore process.

Click this option to merge selected drawers into a single drawer that already exists in the data location. Choose the desired single drawer from the adjacent field. If documents from the drawers that you are merging already exist in the drawer receiving the merge, FileCabinet CS will prompt you about each document that has different versions in the current data and backup data. When prompted, you can decide whether to keep the current document, keep the document from the backup, or keep both (FileCabinet CS gives the restored document a unique name).

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for the feedback!