Editing a group for advanced user/group security

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

Note: Follow this procedure only if you are using advanced security options.

To change the name, description, or privilege settings for a group when using advanced user/group security, follow these steps.

  1. Choose Setup > System Configuration and click the Groups tab. (If the Groups tab is not visible, you must enter the master password.)
  2. In the Groups list, highlight the group you would like to edit.
  3. Click the Edit Group button.
  4. In the Edit Group dialog, change the group's name, description, and/or privilege settings, as desired.
  5. Click OK to close the Edit Group dialog.

Notes

  • You cannot change the name or description for application-defined groups, which include the $Administrators, $Guests, and $Unauthorized Users groups.
  • You cannot change privilege settings for the $Administrators or $Unauthorized Users groups. Users in the $Administrators group can always access all areas of FileCabinet CS. Access to FileCabinet CS will always be denied to users in the $Unauthorized Users group.
  • Any standard security settings you have set up in the Setup > System Configuration > Security tab will transfer as privileges to the default $Guests group when you enable advanced security options.
  • Access to the FileCabinet CS Conversion utility is restricted in the $Guests group by default, regardless of standard security settings.

Related topic: Overview of advanced security options

Share This