Clearing locks

Alerts and notices

When you access a file, it locks to prevent someone else from editing the file. When you close the file, the lock usually clears automatically. If the lock does not clear, you’ll see an error message that a file, plan, letter, or Planner CS is already in use or is locked.

To resolve the following error messages, see these articles.

Do not clear locks before ensuring that someone else at your firm is not working in the same plan, or data may be lost.

Use the following procedures to clear locks in Planner CS or in Windows Explorer.

In Planner CS

  1. Close any open plans.
  2. Choose Help > Clear Locks to open the Clear Locks dialog.
  3. Select one of the following options:
    • Clear locks set by a specific user. Enter the Windows user name of the user whose lock you want to clear.
    • Clear ONLY template letter locks. Select this option to clear all template letter locks on all computers.
    • Clear all locks. Select this option to clear all user locks.
  4. Click the Clear Locks button.

In Windows Explorer

  1. Navigate to X:\WinCSI\$UTPSYS\UID, where X is the mapped drive or network location where Planner CS is installed.
  2. Each file in this folder is a user lock. Search for a file name that contains the name of the Windows user profile that is locked, and delete the file.
  3. Click Yes.
  4. Navigate to X:\WinCSI\$UTPSYS\$UTPCID, where X is the mapped drive or network location where Planner CS is installed.
  5. Each file in this folder is a plan lock. Search for a file name that contains the plan ID of the locked plan, and delete the file.
  6. Click Yes.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for the feedback!