1040-US ELF: UltraTax CS warnings after creating electronic files (FAQ)

Alerts and notices

Question

How does UltraTax CS warn against entering data in a return after the return's electronic file has been created and is ready for transmission?

Answer

UltraTax CS warnings include the following:

  • The Electronic Filing tab in Utilities > CS Connect shows a red exclamation point (!) preceding the Client ID column for clients whose data has changed since the creation of the electronic file.
  • An UltraTax CS diagnostic message appears on the FYI tab for clients whose data has changed since the creation of the electronic file.

    Note: If the diagnostic is still present after deleting the electronic file in Utilities > CS Connect, close and re-open the client.

  • UltraTax CS displays a warning dialog if you open a client for whom the ELF file created status event has been logged.

    Note: UltraTax CS automatically marks the ELF file created status event by default. This ELF event and others are accessible by clicking the Discourage Access button on the Setup > Office Configuration > Status tab.

If you create an electronic file and subsequently change the tax return, you must re-create the electronic file before transmitting the return.