Adding and deleting security groups

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

Change to CS Support service hours

Our Support department is closed on Friday, April 28th for a company event. However, limited Accounting CS phone support is available on that date from 9 AM - 5 PM ET due to the approaching deadline for quarterly payroll tax forms.

Links to our most popular payroll tax processing topics are available in the Alerts and notices section on the right side of most pages.

Choose Setup > Firm Information > Security Groups (or Client Security Groups).

Note: This menu command is available only when the Enable Firm Security checkbox is marked in the Setup > Firm Information > Firm > Preferences tab.

Adding a security group

The Security Groups selection list displays the names of all of the security groups that have been set up for the staff type. To add a new security group, do the following.

  1. Click the Add button.
  2. Enter a name for the group in the Description field.
  3. In the Privilege selections pane, mark the checkboxes next to the permissions you want to assign to the security group.
  4. When finished, click the Enter button.

Note: If a staff member belongs to multiple security groups and there is a conflict for a security privilege, the staff will be granted the privilege. For example, if one assigned group allows a staff member access to Print Reports and the other group does not allow it, the staff member will be granted the privileges to access Print Reports.

Deleting a security group

The application does not allow you to delete a security group if one or more staff members are currently assigned to that group; you would first need to reassign each staff member to a different security group (via the Setup > Firm Information > Staff screen to reassign staff members to a different security group.

  1. In the Security Groups selection list, highlight the group to delete.
  2. Click the Delete button and respond to the confirmation prompt.

Note: You cannot modify or delete the Administrator security group. Your firm must assign at least one staff member to the Administrator security group to ensure that at least one person has access to all areas of the application for all clients.

Related topics

Security overview

Setting up firm preferences

Assigning staff to security groups

Setting up staff information

Top of page

Share This