Client Data Management Utility screen

Alerts and notices
Leave feedback

Internal Employees: Submit feedback

Contact information (optional):

Leave this blank:

Please tell us how we can make this information more helpful.


Characters left:

Change to CS Support service hours

Our Support department is closed on Friday, April 28th for a company event. However, limited Accounting CS phone support is available on that date from 9 AM - 5 PM ET due to the approaching deadline for quarterly payroll tax forms.

Links to our most popular payroll tax processing topics are available in the Alerts and notices section on the right side of most pages.

Use the Client Data Management Utility to back up and restore data for individual clients. Note that, we do not recommend using the Client Data Management Utility as a method for routine backing up and restoring client data.

In most cases, we recommend that you back up and restore data via the File > Backup command, which backs up data for all clients in the firm database. (See Best practices for safeguarding your firm and client data). (See Best practices for safeguarding your firm and client data).

Although you generally do not need to back up data for a single client, there are a few circumstances where it may be necessary. The Client Data Management Utility provides a convenient method to create individual backup files for one or more clients as needed for such special circumstances. The client data backup files provide a method of point-in-time archiving as well as a convenient method to restore one client at a time — for example, when preparing client data for an IRS audit or if merging with another accounting firm.

Choose File > Client Data Management Utility.

This utility is currently not available for the Firm client or for consolidation master clients.

If a client has any billing transactions or impound payments, only the Backup for another firm and Restore from another firm options are applicable from the drop-down list in the Action field.

Notes

  • The Client Data Management Utility enables you to select multiple clients at one time to create a separate backup file for each client, but you can restore only one client at a time.
  • The default Backup/Restore location is specified in the CS Professional Suite tab of the File Locations dialog.
  • You can use the Search and Filter fields to limit the list of available clients that appear in the Client Data grid.
  • If the utility is not applicable to a client (because it is a consolidation master client or the firm client, or if it has billing transactions), the application displays an explanation in the Details column for that client.

Fields & buttons

Select the action from the drop-down list.

  • Backup. Use this option to create a client backup file that can be restored to your firm's database. (For example, point-in-time restore, or prior to the import of a large amount of data such as QuickBooks files.)
  • Restore. Use this option to restore a client backup that was previously created for this firm. (For example, a point-in-time restore.)
  • Backup for another firm. Use this option to create a client backup file that can be restored to another firm's database. (For example, when you want to merge data between firms.)
  • Restore from another firm. Use this option to restore a client backup file that was created for another firm. (For example, when you want to merge client data between firms.)

Note: For any client with billing transactions or impound payments, only the Backup for another firm or Restore from another firm selections are applicable.

For licensed users of Accounting CS Workpapers

  • Check out. Use this option to create a backup of the client that audit staff can take to the client's office in the field. (Filename: <Client ID-yyyy-mm-dd>.cbf)
  • Check in. After you have completed audit work in the field at your clients office, you can use this option to restore the client back into Workpapers CS.

Notes

  • The application prompts you with a confirmation dialog if you try to open a client that is currently checked out. Show me.
    remove check out dialog
  • Before client data is taken into the field by audit staff, ensure that multiple staff members don't check out a given client at the same time, otherwise essential client data could be overwritten when it is checked back in at the office.
  • Clients that are Checked out appear italicized in the Clients List in the Setup > Clients screen.

Enter or browse to the location for which to back up or restore.

Note: The default Backup/Restore location is defined in the CS Professional Suite tab of the File Locations dialog.

Mark the checkbox next to each client whose data you want to back up or restore. For a backup, the file name defaults to the format of Client ID-yyyy-mm-dd, but you can edit the filename as necessary.

Note: You can use the Search and Filter fields to limit the list of available clients that appear in the Client Data grid.

Related topics

Appropriate uses of the Client Data Management Utility

Configuring access to the Client Data Management Utility

Best practices for safeguarding your firm and client data

Backing up the firm database

Why single-client backups were used in CSA vs. Why they are not needed in Accounting CS

Share This