Backup Client: Maintain Password dialog

Alerts and notices

Use this dialog to verify whether client data that is password protected in another CS Professional Suite application should be assigned the same password when stored in FileCabinet CS.

This dialog opens when the following conditions are met.

  • Client data for which automatic backup options have been enabled is closed in another CS Professional Suite application or proforma'd in UltraTax CS.
  • The client data is password protected in the source application, but either is not password protected in FileCabinet CS, or a drawer does not yet exist for the client data in FileCabinet CS.

Note: You can configure FileCabinet CS so that this dialog does not appear by clearing the Prompt to assign drawer password to FileCabinet CS checkbox in the Misc tab of the User Preferences dialog.


A similar dialog, the Maintain Client Password dialog, performs the same function for clients when you send documents manually from the source application to FileCabinet CS.

Fields & buttons

Displays the Client ID of the client in whose folders the data or document will be stored.

Displays the name of the client in whose folders the data or document will be stored.

Mark this checkbox if you wish to assign the same client password to the drawer in FileCabinet CS that corresponds to the client being backed up in the source application.

Enter the master password in this field. This field is available only when the Limit users of drawer passwords option is selected when using standard security options in FileCabinet CS.

Mark this checkbox if you do not wish to be prompted for password assignment verification each time you store a password-protected client's data in FileCabinet CS.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you for the feedback!